2014 / 2015 BMW X5 Detailed Review and Road Test

Is the BMW X5 right for you? Check out the most detailed review on YouTube to find out.

Be sure to LIKE this video! Liking and subscribing help AOA get access to cars!
More videos: http://goo.gl/Kj1FlI
Best cars in 2014: http://goo.gl/3xAVJi
Upcoming reviews: http://goo.gl/pLtP6U
AOA on Facebook: http://goo.gl/a47Cu1

For 2014 BMW took their successful three row crossover back to the cosmetic surgeon for a face lift inside and out. The same three engine options as 2013 return for the 2014 model year and we expect a tweaked version of the M5”s twin-turbo V8 to make a cameo for the 2015 BMW X5M.

While the engine lineup remains the same, power is up slightly in the V8 model to 445 horsepower and 480 lb-ft of torque. The 3.0L diesel model makes a return for 2014 as the slower but more efficient option.

If you’re shopping the X5, you should also put the Mercedes ML and perhaps even the Jeep Grand Cherokee on your short list. The Acura MDX SH-AWD compares well to the 3.0L turbo model, but the Japanese competitor is easily outclassed by the X5’s V8.

Music contained inside is licensed ubder Creative Commons
http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/licenses/

Sweeter Vermouth Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/
Statistics powered by ChannelMeter http://channelmeter.com
Video Rating: / 5

20 Comments

  1. Waw Fantastic intro! I like how you explained what the x drive 35i meant and also how you broke down the size of the vehicle in such a way that newbies like myself can understand exactly what we're looking at. No one else has explained it quite like that. Thank you and keep up the good work.

  2. This is the best, most comprehensive review I've found! Well done!

  3. Alex on AutosSeptember 25, 2015 at 2:00 am

    Bob, the seats are quite comfortable but the XC90 is a notch better.

  4. Bob HenningsenSeptember 25, 2015 at 2:03 am

    Alex, I am 63 and have back pain.  Does the X5 have the most comfortable front seats of any in this class or is there a SUV that you would recommend. Basically what front seats are the best for support and length? Please answer.

  5. Hi Alex, does the X5s in Canada have sat nav as standard? Because I'm planning to buy one. Thanks.

  6. Solid review, covered this vehicle very well. Just got into a 2014 with 20000KM on it, nice chunk of depreciation that I didn't have to suffer. Overall this vehicle is both relatively practical for many purposes, good for brutal winter climates like the one I live in and handles very nicely with a composed ride, as a daily driver I am extremely pleased with my purchase. That said as an additional point on the two segment rear hatch doors, the bottom segment makes for a great landing pad for my large athelic hunting dog that springs into his large tall carrier that fits in the 32 inch  + high rear compartment…that landing pad saves the damage that would otherwise happen if there was bumper exposure. Also appreciated is the 4 zone climate control so the big guy gets to cool down well after a hard run. Great vehicle.

  7. self parking?   Good grief!

  8. Srinivas ketharajuSeptember 25, 2015 at 4:22 am

    Hi Alex,why do you prefer the luxury line over the M sport.Any thoughts on the Diesel engine vs the 3 liter inline gas version

  9. Curious why he called a Grand Cherokee a crossover

  10. Ken SchneiderSeptember 25, 2015 at 5:25 am

    I like your reviews. However, I like to add a couple of things that I found with the X5 to be annoying enough to NOT purchase it again. I had 2 of those already and in daily use you notice that the built quality does not match the price tag. My both X5s made noises : squeaking and rumbles here and there even without moving the vehicle, just when the sun came out and the cabin heated up in the sunlight, plastic cladding started to expand and get loud. Another issue is the shifter. On manual – is up and + is down. Why did BMW want to reinvent what any other manufacturer does already right? I did never got it.
    3rd on the list is the lack of storage space. I could never find a place where to put a cellphone or my wallet. Cup holders became anything holder. Even worse with my wife's purse.
    Finally the suspension: even on the latest model it is too stiff and bumpy. The front row is OK but the rest of the family in the 2nd row will complain on any road trip and I mean on any! It is just uncomfortable! I don't even mention the 3rd row because it is ridiculousy cramped and not even children want to sit there for more than 20 minutes.
    I have a Porsche Cayenne now. It has the same "where to put my wallet and cellphone problem" but overall is the more solid car and me and my family are happy with it. 

  11. Parker SalomonSeptember 25, 2015 at 5:56 am

    it is a suv and boring

  12. Thanks for the review. its not that easy to find excellent review on particular brand with particular model. Currently in the process of getting the 2015 X5 x35i M Sport Package and cant wait for the papers to be finalised. Do u recommend for the window tint to be darker as for all windows, or make it darker at the back seat and rear, with about 50% for the driver's row? I cant decide. the car will be Sapphire black metallic.

  13. Great review. 

  14. Will you suggest to fit adaptive dynamic suspension or adaptive M suspension on an X5? 
    Is there a significant difference? 

  15. Jamaine MchaiSeptember 25, 2015 at 8:47 am

    Best review out there. I just want put my two cents here that I didn't quite agree with the comparison you gave, the ML 350, Audi Q7. I you look carefully this car is competing with ML 350 and the VW Toureg. Their measurements, engine capacity, interior room and fuel mileage is very close to each other and so is the price. 

  16. Excellent unbiased review…not sure why I didnt come to Youtube first!

  17. Matt ChristofiSeptember 25, 2015 at 9:48 am

    Quality review. You describe specs and features precise. subscribed

  18. Davinderpal SinghSeptember 25, 2015 at 9:54 am

    Great review now please review the new Range Rover sport. Thanx

  19. Very good reviews, best out there. Detailed, thoughtful, and from a layman's perspective (which is great). I'm sick of drag races and lateral Gs which mean absolutely nothing from a daily driver's perspective. I have one observation tho: you never seem to give a 5 or lower score to any of the cars you're testing, which makes the 1 to 10 scale meaningless. If the worst car gets a 6 and the best a 10, what's the 1 to 5 reserved for? Lada or Moskvitch? One answer might be that you don't want to alienate manufacturers/dealers so your "6" actually means "1". If that's true, but you cannot talk about it, please wink in your next review, at 1 minute mark lol :)

  20. Richard JohnsonSeptember 25, 2015 at 10:45 am

    This review is second to none. Very well done indeed.

Comments are closed.